Staff Profile/Mathematics Department

thomasqi

Thomas Qi

I first discovered my interest in teaching through a seminar held by university classmates. We held regular weekly gatherings in which we shared our new ideas and knowledge about mathematics and physics. Over the course of these meetings, I realized my strong interest and incentive in conveying knowledge and thought to others. This led me to dedicate my career to teaching.

 

My educational experience spanned across three different regions: pre-university in Mainland China, undergraduate in Hong Kong, and postgraduate in the US at Columbia University. I treasure these opportunities since not many can experience such different teaching and learning styles. They have allowed me to recognise that Asian and Western cultures have vastly different philosophies in teaching and learning. I have found that Asian teaching is based on exams and practicing. Western teaching is contrastingly based on projects, focuses on understanding and promotes diversity in students. As a mathematics teacher, it is extremely hard to say which is better. I have experienced both throughout my own education, as well as through teaching experience both in local schools in Mainland China and US schools. Interestingly, I have observed that both are changing their approach; the US Education Department is adding more standardized tests and the China Education Department is introducing more personalized assessments.

 

Hong Kong is unique as both systems are present here; they are classified as international schools and local schools. I want to combine the advantages of both systems to create a new learning environment at Han Academy for students mastering mathematics. Students will be motivated, enjoy their studies and develop a self-awareness of their own learning needs. They will study independently and be dedicated to absorbing knowledge, rather than being spoon-fed information or playing games without genuinely learning.

 

Another valuable thing I learned from Columbia University is "try your best to be yourself", also a common philosophy in Ivy League Universities. Every student demonstrates different talents in math, but without a doubt, every student needs math. Though they may not need all the formulas and methodology in the long term, they will definitely need the logical thinking skills cultivated through studying math. My mission is to make every student form his or her own way of thinking to keep up with the fast pace of our changing world.

教職員/數學部

thomasqi

祁文迪

人們常說教師是人類靈魂的工程師,這句話點明教師工作的兩個重要方面:一是教師的工作直接影響人們的靈魂,二是教師的工作是一個巨大的工程。這句話時常激勵著我。

 

我在中國內地一個很普通的小城市讀了小學和中學,上大學來到了香港,碩士畢業於美國的哥倫比亞大學。對於我來說,這是很寶貴的經歷,因爲不是很多人有這種機會接觸到不同的文化與教育。在體驗過不同的教育體系之後,我深切感受到兩種教育體系是如此不同:東方教育注重考試,西方教育注重項目;東方教育注重技巧,西方教育注重理解;東方教育注重平均水準,西方教育注重個性發展。其實兩種教育系統各有優劣,也正在互相學習、取長補短,美國越來越重視標準化考試,中國則加入了更多的個性化素質教育。

 

香港的特別之處在於兩種教育系統兼存並行,但是這兩種系統涇渭分明,家長們往往面對兩難的選擇:國際學校輕鬆愉快但是成績一般,本地學校學習氛圍濃厚然而孩子過於辛苦。經歷過兩種教育系統的洗禮,我希望在漢鼎書院將兩種教育系統的優點結合,創造出我們特有的學習環境與教育理念。學生在漢鼎應該被激勵,理解自己的需要,從而自發地努力學習,自發地去獲取知識,而不是被灌輸知識,或者因爲玩樂而放弃學習。

 

哥倫比亞大學向我們傳遞的一個非常重要的理念是「盡全力做你自己」。這也成爲我的教學理念。每個學生的數學天賦是不同的,但是每個學生都需要學習數學。也許在漫長的人生旅程中,學生們並不一定需要那些數學公式,但是他們絕對需要透過學習數學而培養起來的邏輯思維能力。我們要做的是讓學生瞭解自己的能力,選擇適合自己的數學課程,自發地學習,從而得到自己對於數學的理解。我的使命正是讓每一個學生擁有屬於自己的思維能力來適應這個瞬息萬變的世界。