Staff Profile/Chinese Department

shirleysu

Shirley Su

I was born to be a teacher. With full passion for education since childhood and determination to become an excellent teacher, I chose to major in Chinese Language and Literature and graduated from the School of Chinese Language and Literature in Beijing Normal University, achieving the honour of a top-ten student of the University and excellent graduate of Beijing. I came to Hong Kong to pursue the master degree of Arts in Translation and Interpretation in 2007, and taught in Yew Chung International School and prestigious English Schools Foundation successively since 2009.

 

I became one of the youngest teachers in Beijing New Oriental School during the university period. I mainly taught TOEFL writing, SAT writing and intermediate English writing, and was well received among students and parents. During my service as a teacher in international schools in Hong Kong, I had taught all the subjects with Chinese as first language, second language or foreign language designed by the Cambridge, Edexcel and IB Examination Board including IB Chinese Literature, Language and Literature, Theory of Knowledge, and Second Language Acquisition, and has produced excellent results in IB, IGCSE and GCSE for eight consecutive years. More than a decade, I had accumulated rich experience of curriculum design and classroom practice in teaching international curricula. In the last three years, two of my students won the highest honour for students among secondary schools and universities in Hong Kong - Hong Kong Scholarship for Excellence Scheme(one million Hong Kong dollars per student), and went to Cambridge University and UC Berkeley for further study respectively.

 

In the past eight-year teaching of IB Chinese Language and Literature, I led my students to read classic literature works by famous national and foreign writers such as Li Bai, Su Shi, Shakespeare, Lu Xun, Bai Xianyong, Su Tong, Chi Zijian, Xixi, Mo Yan, etc. I aim to make students become familiar with these classics and help them develop the skills of analysis, evaluation and creation as the core competitiveness. "Free spirit, independent personality, bilingual expression, and critical thinking" are my goals of cultivating students.

Due to my excellent understanding of international education and outstanding frontline experience, I was invited by IBO (International Baccalaureate Organization) to take up the posts of IB Examiner, Workshop Leader, School Visit Team Leader (for authorization and evaluation), and IB Consultant. In the past three years, as IB workshop leader, I organised four 3-day workshops for teachers (nearly 80 hours) for IB Asia Pacific, exploring various aspects like the curriculum design, teaching practice and evaluation. As IB School Visit Team Leader, I have authorized the prestigious Wellington International College Shanghai, reviewed the prestigious Shanghai High School International Division, and now I am offering IB school set up consultation for a Chengdu International School on behalf of IB Asia Pacific. In addition, I have co-published a set of books on the IB Chinese A Literature with Ms. Li Ping, namely IBDP Chinese A Literature Exemplary Essays and Analysis (three volumes), which were well-received among teachers and students.

 

With solid Chinese language foundation, broad international vision and rich international exchange experience, I am devoted to expanding approaches for the Sino-Western Cultural Communication. I was once the translator of large-scale cultural and economic forums, such as Annual Meeting of World Comparative Literature, Fortune Global Forum, Writers' Workshop of Baptist University, etc. Moreover, I also practised the simultaneous interpretation and consecutive interpretation for the Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress Mr. Xu Jialu and Vice President of Chinese Writers Association during the meeting with writers from Iowa Writers' Workshop.

 

My students often report in interviews: "demanding, efficient, always pushing student to the limit, one the best teachers we have ever had." My colleagues and leaders praise me to be a “sharp, efficient, creative and outstanding bilingual talent and educator who can display her excellent teaching talents and leadership.” The representatives from IB Asia Pacific Head Office praised me on several occasions as “young and passionate, with amazing understandings of international education, curriculum and standards.” Aiming for the highest and yet being down-to-earth, I strive to practice the motto of Beijing Normal University, namely "learn, so as to instruct others and act, to serve as example to all".

 

I and my five-year-old daughter officially joined Han Academy on August 16, 2017, and started to create our first-year stories at Han Academy.

教职员/中文部

shirleysu

苏媛

从小就对教育充满热情、立志成为一名优秀老师的我,毕业于北京师范大学文学院中国语言文学专业,是北京师范大学十佳学生、北京市优秀毕业生。2007年我来港攻读翻译与传译硕士学位,2009年起先后执教于香港耀中国际学校和英基学校协会。

 

我在大学期间就是北京新东方学校最年轻的教师之一,教授托福写作、SAT写作、中级英语写作等课程,广受好评。在香港国际学校任教期间,我连续八年教授剑桥、爱德思、IB考试局下所有的中文作为母语、二语和外语的科目,包括IB中文文学课程、语言与文学课程、知识论课程、二语习得课程,连续八年创造出优异的国际会考和高考成绩。在逾十年的国际课程教学中,积累了非常丰富的课程设计经验和课堂实践经验。近三年,我指导的两名学生夺得香港大中院校学生最高荣誉——香港卓越奖学金(每人100万港币),赴剑桥大学和伯克利大学求学。

 

在八年的IB中国语言和文学教学中,我带领学生阅读李白、苏轼、莎士比亚、鲁迅、白先勇、苏童、迟子建、西西、莫言等衆多海内外名家的经典文学作品,让经典嵌入学生的生命,让分析、评价和创造能力成为学生的核心竞争力。“自由精神、独立人格、双语表达、审辨思维”是我着力培养学生的目标。

 

凭借对国际教育出色的理解和突出的一线经验,我获IB国际文凭组织邀请出任IB考官、教师培训官、学校资格认证和复审组组长、IB建校顾问。我为IB亚太地区组织了4场近80小时的教师培训,涉及课程设置、教学操作和评估方式等各个层面。我认证了声誉卓着的上海惠灵顿国际学校,复审了百年名校上海中学国际部,现代表IB亚太总部为成都某国际学校提供IB建校谘询。我与李萍老师合著出版了一套IB文学课程书籍《IBDP中文A文学课程范文及点评》三卷,深受老师和学生好评。

 

我具有扎实的中国语言根基,同时具有开阔的国际视野和丰富的国际交流经验,致力于拓宽中西交流的途径。我曾担任“世界比较文学年会”、“全球财富论坛”、“浸会大学作家工作坊”等大型文化和经济论坛的翻译,也曾为全国人大常委会副委员长许嘉璐先生及中国作家协会副主席在会见“爱荷华作家工作坊”作家时做同声和交替传译。

 

我的学生在多次的调查问卷和访谈中称“苏老师要求极高,富有效率,将每个学生推到了极限,几乎是我们见过的最棒的老师”。我的同事和领导赞扬我“犀利、极具效率、富有创意,出色的双语人才,展现出卓越的教学才华和领导能力”。IB亚太总部的负责人多次评价我“年轻而富有激情,对国际教育、课程和标准展示出令人惊叹的理解”。一直以来,我志存高远、脚踏实地,努力践行着北师大“学为人师,行为世范”的校训。

 

我和我五岁的女儿于2017年8月16日加入汉鼎书院,开始书写汉鼎元年的故事。