Staff Profile/Chinese Department

yangtao

Yang Tao

As a factory apprentice in 1987, I was admitted to the Department of Performance at Shanghai Theatre Academy, a prestigious school of art students. I remember my first stage performance; I played the small role of Lu Dahai in the drama, The Thunderstorm, As the student casting Zhou Ping was often late, the teacher temporarily changed our roles, allowing me to play Zhou Ping. My heart leaps with excitement, rejoicing that finally I could cast a major figure. When I appeared on the stage in my gray gown, the theater suddenly burst out thunderous laughter. It hit me like a huge punch, leaving me standing stiff on the stage.

 

The Russian dramatist Stanislavski had an aphorism: “There are no little roles, but only little actors.” Regardless of the significance of the role, it is important how actors tackle with the roles that they play. Each role, irrespective of size, has its value, and should be addressed with positivity and optimism and without complaint.

 

When teaching in the Performance Department at Sichuan University, I often told my students “Every job is indispensable. If you understand this, you can show the value and importance of any character. On the contrary, if you react with self-pity to your ‘little role’, you will never taste success.”

 

I have been engaged in drama teaching in Hong Kong for many years and have always recognised the importance of teaching without discrimination. Drama education helps to improve students’ psychological state and adaptability, which is an effective way and means of maintaining mental health and social adaptiveness. Artistic accomplishment is not only an important manifestation of students’ individuality, but also helps to build personality and humanistic quality, allowing students to enjoy the wealth of life.

教职员/中文部

yangtao

杨涛

1987年,我由一名工厂学徒工考入上海戏剧学院表演系,成为一名高等艺术院校的大学生。记得第一次登台公演,我在话剧《雷雨》片段里扮演只有几句台词的“小角色鲁大海。由于扮演周平的同学排练经常迟到,老师临时换角色,让我扮演周平,我心裏一阵窃喜,终于有机会摘掉“跑龙套专业户”的帽子了。当我一身灰色长衫出现在舞台上,剧场顿时传来雷鸣般的笑声,仿佛被一记重拳击打,我僵直地站在舞台上。

 

俄国戏剧大师斯坦尼斯拉夫斯基说过一句格言:沒有小角色,只有小演员。角色不分大小,重要的是演员如何看待所扮演的角色。每件事情,无论大小都有其价值,应该积极乐观地面对,不应有太多抱怨。

 

我在四川大学艺术学院表演系任教时常对学生说:每个岗位都是不可或缺的,只要努力做好本分,就能显出角色的价值,显出那个角色的重要性;相反,若抱着‘小角色’的心态妄自菲薄,自怜怀才不遇,敷衍塞责,就始终不会尝到成功的滋味。

 

我在香港从事戏剧教育多年,一直秉承“有教无类这一初心。戏剧教育有助于提高学生的心理素质和适应能力,是心理健康及社会适应教育的一种有效方法和途径。良好的艺术修养是学生个人素质的重要体现,也是人格教育和人文素质教育的载体,是学生享用一生的财富。