Staff Profile/Chinese Department

vincentwang

Vincent Wang

The first time I really felt the charm of languages was in my second year of college when I finished reading my first Korean novel. Through this new language, I caught my first glimpse of the vast and fascinating world of education. At a school in Seoul, I consolidated a number of Korean students’ skills in Chinese listening and writing within two months and was rewarded by their great excitement when they had finally passed the highest level of HSK exam.

 

Studying and learning languages is my greatest hobby. Driven by this passion, I have passed the Korean Advanced Competency Test, and I can easily communicate in English, Cantonese and Mandarin. I am now learning yet another language and I hope that my enthusiasm can help me lead my students to explore the world of languages freely.

 

I received a master’s degree in linguistics at Hong Kong Polytechnic University and got a diploma in education at the University of Hong Kong. In addition to my professional knowledge of teaching, I keep the habit of learning and reflection. After working for a few years in a Hong Kong DSS school, I moved on to an international school. These two different job experiences have given me the opportunity to see the applications of traditional ideas and innovations in education and the similarities and differences between local and international courses. I observe how different teaching methods can have a profound impact on teachers and children alike. I now balance my teaching with a combination of the advantages coming from both sides. In addition to knowledge required for exams, I want to help children to develop good learning and reading habits, to build their own language skills, and to experience and to express the joy of life through the medium of language.

 

In addition to teaching language, supporting students’ healthy growth as independent individuals has become one of the most important responsibilities in my education career. As a scout leader, I travelled and communicated extensively with students, helping and encouraging them when designing themed summer camps and when visiting Taiwan, Xiamen, Quanzhou and other places. Students also had to carry out a variety of camping activities, sharing these memorable experiences with each other. I remember once, in the middle of the camp, I sat outside the tents to console and chat with the children that could not sleep, and the students said, “I feel safe.” This is one of the happiest memories of my teaching career.

 

I hope that through the primary school stage of their study, my students can become happy, responsible learners with a willingness to share.

教职员/中文部

vincentwang

王源

第一次真正感受到语言的魅力,是在大学学习了韩语两年之后,精读了第一本韩语小说《완득이》,借由新的语言,我隐约触摸到辽阔世界打开的另一扇窗。第一次感受到教育的魅力,是在首尔的学校,我帮助韩国的学生们强化了两个月的中文听力和写作后,收到了他们因为终于通过HSK最高级別考试而兴奋不已的道谢信。

 

学习语言、研究语言是我最大的兴趣爱好。在这种动力驱使下,我通过了韩国语高级能力考试,并时不时在英语、广东话、普通话三种频道中切换。我现在又在学习另一门世界通行的语言,希望这种热情能帮助我带领我的学生自如穿行在语言的世界。

 

为了成为一名老师,我在理工大学获得语言学硕士学位后,又继续在香港大学攻读了教育学文凭。专业知识的装备和教学的训练,令我时时保持学习和反思的状态。在香港的直资学校工作数年后,我转入一间国际学校工作至今,两种截然不同的工作经验让我有机会看到传统理念与创新的交汇,本地课程与国际课程的异同,多样化的教学方式对教师和孩子们的深远影响。把这两者的优势相互结合,带给我的学生,是我现在正在做的事情。除了知识,帮助孩子们养成良好的学习、阅读习惯,拥有令他们自信的语文能力,并通过语言这个媒介去体会和表达生活中的喜怒哀乐,是我一直努力想让孩子们收获的。

 

我发现除了语言教学之外,陪伴他们健康成长也成为我教育生涯最重要的职责之一。我曾经作为童军领袖,带着学生们走南闯北,与各地的孩子交流;设计主题夏令营,带着学生访问台湾、厦门、泉州等地,同时也开展各种露营活动,和他们一起分享生活。记得有一次,在深夜的营地,我坐在帐篷外陪无法入睡的孩子聊天,学生说:“老师,有你在,感觉很安全。”这是我的教学生涯中最快乐的回音之一。

 

我希望,通过小学阶段的学习,我的学生可以成为一个懂得快乐、有责任感、愿意分享和会学习的人。